in a Pecan Shell
named Hamburg when it was settled a short distance away from the present
site in the late 1840s, it was granted a post office under that name in 1852.
Three years later the post office moved a mile closer to present-day Edom.
The relocation brought a change of name – taken from the Bible.
alongside the Tyler – Poerter’s Bluff Road, it became a popular stopping place
The community moved again to its present location, although
no exact date (or reason) is known.
Just prior to the Civil War, Edom
had a Masonic lodge, a waggonwright, a saddler and a tanyard. After the Civil
War, the community opened schools and among the enrolled students were children
of the famous Indian captive Cynthia
The population in the 1890s was a mere 150 residents, which
peaked at around 300 sometime in the late 1920s. Despite the lack of a railroad
connection, its economy remained strong and the population has remained around
300 for decades.
The post office closed in the year of the Bi-centennial
(1976) but Edom remains a small but vibrant community with a yearly arts and crafts
"Nice cafes are worth the drive." - Barclay
Hotel Here > Canton
Zandt County 1920s Map showing Edom|
(near Henderson County line)
Courtesy Texas General Land Office
|Book Hotel Here