in a Pecan Shell|
The town was named after Davy Crockett who
reportedly had camped nearby on his way to the
Alamo. The site was very near the Old San Antonio Road. A family of Tennesseans
donated the land for the town and named it after Crockett, who they had known
back in Tennessee.
The town was incorporated in 1837, and a post office
was granted the following year. Crockett was connected to Nacogdoches
by stage service.
In 1839 raids by the Alabama-Coushatta and Cherokee
Indians forced the town's residents to take shelter in the fortified log courthouse.
Crockett was a training center for Confederate conscripts during the
The railroad came through in 1872 enabling Crockett to exploit
the county's timber resources.
By 1885 the town was thriving with a population
of 1,200 and the following year a school was opened for black girls. It evolved
into Mary Allen
Junior College, which operated into the 1970s.
In 1904 lignite mining
started and it peaked about 1910. The stands of timber were seriously depleted
by the 1920s.
The population was over 3,000 in the mid 20's and by 1936
it was nearly 4,500.
Crockett population increased while most of East
Texas declined after WWII.
It reached 5,000 by the 1960 census.
Hotel Here > Crockett
Landmarks / Chronicles
Tejas State Park by Dana Goolsby|
21 miles northeast of Crockett
Mission Tejas State Park fully encompasses both the rich history of East Texas
and the natural wonder and beauty of the Pineywoods.
Glenwood Cemetery - Houston County's oldest cemetery|
Photo by Dana
Goolsby, October 2010
Cola Billboard in Crockett |
Photo courtesy Barclay
Gibson, April 2006
Escapes, in its purpose to preserve historic, endangered and vanishing
Texas, asks that anyone wishing to share their local history and vintage/historic
photos, please contact
|Book Hotel Here